Hot Dog, I’ve Got an Internship!

Today was my internship orientation and official first day at the Field Museum. Overall, the day went really well  (after my mad dash for the Metra train this morning) and I’m looking forward to what’s to come. Plus, who can be mad at the great views from Museum Campus of the lake and Lakeshore Drive?

So what will I be doing this summer? Well, without drowning you in the details (okay I’m still getting a grasp of it too) I’ll sum up the projects I’ll be working on.  The largest and overarching project I’ll be focusing on, along with fellow interns and staff from the The Action Center/Environment, Culture, and Conservation Center, is research for the proposed Calumet Heritage Corridor. Heritage corridors or areas are large geographical areas that have multiple historical, cultural, and environmental assets; their designation comes from the National Park Service. The Field Museum and partners such as the Calumet Stewardship Initiative are working to increase environmental stewardship in a large area stretching from southeastern Chicagoland to northwest Indiana. The Calumet region has a number of notable features from its ethnic communities to its industrial history (which has periodically been detrimental in the community as well). I’ll be working on research of that region through participant observation and interviews. Learn more here: http://www.calumetstewardship.org/

That research, combined with other inquiries into the diverse urban communities of Chicago, will also be used to build what the Field is calling their Contemporary Urban Collection. The collection will attempt to lead ethnological collections towards an examination of modern urban people, not just indigenous peoples. Read more about that here: http://fieldmuseum.org/explore/department/ecco/contemporary-urban-collections

And did I mention my supervisor bought my fellow interns and I each a hot dog for lunch? And not any hot dog, of course a Chicago-style hot dog. Be jealous.

4 thoughts on “Hot Dog, I’ve Got an Internship!

  1. Courtney,

    The internship sounds great. It makes me think of the eight summers I spent working at the Field Museum when I was an undergrad and grad student. The best place in Chicago to spend the summer.

    The Calumet Heritage project has been kicking around for many years, but I was not aware that the Field Museum was involved and its participation is marvelous. Year ago a very good book came out about the people of what is often locally referred to as “the Region.” It was by the folklorist Richard Dorson “Land of the Millrats,” if you have not already picked it up, do so.

    I look forward to further posts,

    TK

Leave a comment